Sorrow can be alleviated by good sleep, a bath and a glass of wine.

Lent approaches with a fury that is only held back by Tuesday. I want to make this a lent that touches and changes every aspect of my life and being for the better. So much ails me. Who better to turn to than the Angelic Doctor himself for prayer and inspiration? No waiting rooms or reforms or insurance needed. Holy Spirit enlighten me.

Here are two prayers by dear St. Thomas:

For All Good Things Loving God, who sees in us nothing that you have not given yourself, make my body healthy and agile, my mind sharp and clear, my heart joyful and contented, my soul faithful and loving. And surround me with the company of men and angels who share my devotion to you. Above all, let me live in your presence, for with you all fear is banished, and there is only harmony and peace. Let every day combine the beauty of spring, the brightness of summer, the abundance of autumn, and the repose of winter. And at the end of my life on earth, grant that I may come to see and to know you in the fullness of your glory.

St Thomas Aquinas: Prayer for Guidance
O creator past all telling,
you have appointed from the treasures of your wisdom
the hierarchies of angels,
disposing them in wondrous order
above the bright heavens,
and have so beautifully set out all parts of the universe.

You we call the true fount of wisdom
and the noble origin of all things.
Be pleased to shed
on the darkness of mind in which I was born,
The twofold beam of your light
and warmth to dispel my ignorance and sin.

You make eloquent the tongues of children.
Then instruct my speech
and touch my lips with graciousness.
Make me keen to understand, quick to learn,
able to remember;
make me delicate to interpret and ready to speak.

Guide my going in and going forward,
lead home my going forth.
You are true God and true man,
and live for ever and ever.

–St Thomas Aquinas, 1225-74

Leave a Reply

