Wearing of the Green

The Wearing of the Green is an old Irish ballad born of the oppression of the Irish people. Composed during the 1798 rebellion it laments the death of the men and women and the loss of religious freedom. A shamrock was considered an insignia of rebellion and wearing one was punishable by hanging. St. Patrick will forever be associated with the shamrock and using it to explain, in part, the mystery of the Trinity. It certainly stood for unity of the Irish people as they underwent injustice and tyranny.

St. Patrick was kidnapped and brought to Ireland to be a slave. He eventually escaped his bondage, instead of hating his enemy and fleeing the land, he embraced them and gave to them the gift of the Christian faith. Driving away snakes or not I pray he intercedes for us to be freed from whatever enslaves us and that we may love our enemies so much as want to spend eternity with them. Wear green proudly as the privilege was once brought at a dear price by brave men and women who loved their country and their faith. It’s the color of spring and it symbolizes hope.

From St. Patrick’s “Breastplate”:

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

Oh and those shamrock shakes not offered where I live! Boo hoo! Have one for me if you’re able. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

