alone

Feeling completely separated from the human race.  The interests and enthusiasm I’ve been subject to lately alienate me and not in an E.T. flying across a moon way.  From politics to entertainment, it’s a long and deep solitude.  Peter Maurin inspires me with the meat and potatoes I long for, the real need and importance of being and belonging to one another.  Here he speaks of the poor:

“People who are in need and are not afraid to beg give to people not in need the occasion to do good for goodness’ sake. Modern society calls the beggar bum and panhandler and gives him the bum’s rush. But the Greeks used to say that people in need are ambassadors of the gods. Although you may be called bums and panhandlers you are in fact the ambassadors of God. As God’s ambassadors you should be given food, clothing and shelter by those who are able to give it.”

Love him.  Madly.  We bless each other in all states and situations.  Even those I feel a million miles away from right now.  There is so much joy in our need for and of one another.  It may just be silent at the moment for me.  My poverty is not a material one at present but one I must embrace until it is answered by my gente.  Of course when all else fails there is always Bobby Darin:

6 thoughts on “alone

Leave a Reply

