“You may not believe in magic but something very strange is happening at this very moment. Your head has dissolved into thin air and I can see the rhododendrons through your stomach. It’s not that you are dead or anything dramatic like that, it is simply that you are fading away and I can’t even remember your name.” – Leonora Carrington

For someone who did not have time to be anyone’s muse she led an inspired life that was bound to awaken and inspire.  Of course in the time of her youth women and their function in art was to be a muse.  Being an artist  the whole muse aspiration would hardly do for her.  One of the first of her paintings I saw was the Temptation of St. Anthony.

It and she were a revelation.  It was an exhibit with a few of her works and Varo and Kahlo as well.  Had the impact of these three woman not drastically changed my life, there would be something deeply wrong with me and I wouldn’t deserve to know them or ever have pudding again.  Or something equally as cruel. They wove their souls into their work.  Work that was not taken as seriously as it demanded to be by its excellence because of their gender but whose depths echo and will echo as long as people have souls to touch.

Leonora Carrington’s death was confirmed Thursday at the age of 94.  She was a painter, sculptor, writer, mother, pioneer, lover, mental asylum escapist, and really all of us.  She expressed our dreams and visions better than we could hope it with her voice.  Leonora Carrington did so almost all her life through her art and we are richer for it and poorer for her leaving.  Any life that can make that boast is one well lived.  The knowledge she was still sharing this world with me was comforting in some distant way.  I miss her already.

4 thoughts on ““You may not believe in magic but something very strange is happening at this very moment. Your head has dissolved into thin air and I can see the rhododendrons through your stomach. It’s not that you are dead or anything dramatic like that, it is simply that you are fading away and I can’t even remember your name.” – Leonora Carrington

  1. Happens when I look at myself in a mirror… The only difference is that I see cauliflowers in my belly, but no matter how hard I try, it ends up the same way eventually : I just can’t remember my name !

Leave a Reply

