Dreaming of Llamas

When I was very young and unbelieving of all of heaven I had a dream.  I was on the edge of a lake surrounded by mountains and there was a woman with a llama taking it to the water to drink.  Suddenly in the middle of the lake a giant pink rose grew and bloomed.  The petals gently fell away and in the center was a woman.  I shouted excitedly, “St. Therese!  St. Therese!”  The woman with the llama looked at me as if I was crazy.  I asked her, “Can’t you she her?” but she just walked away with her llama.  It was vivid and clear and I still remember so many details of that odd dream.

Pencils for prayers at The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.
Pencils for prayers at The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.

St. Therese would go on later to be an amazing force in my continuing spiritual journey.  I would later learn of her connection with roses and discover another St. Teresa.  The other St. Teresa would lead me all the way to a foreign land with llamas and Andes mountains to see her.  And the definitive St. Teresa would lead me further still and maybe one day to Spain.  St. Therese of Lisieux was the first Carmelite to be a part of my life and bless me in ways too many to count and so many yet to come.

Relic in St. Patrick's Catherdrel in New York.
Relic in St. Patrick’s Cathedral in New York.

I could tell you how she saved me and instructed me but you should just learn it for yourself.  you can read her autobiography, pray a mini novena or even see her gutting fish:

The whole of the 1986 movie is a quiet and glorious study of her life.  She wrote poetry, prayed for condemned murderers, painted, thwarted heresies, changed the way we receive the sacraments and is traveling the world after her death.  She broke rules to be a Discalced Carmelite and became an official Doctor of the Church with her brilliant and accessible theology touching countless lives through her writings.

 

Her writing desk on its world tour with her relics at the The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.
St. Therese’s writing desk on its world tour  at the The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.

Today is St. Therese’s feast day and love her everyday.  You will too if you get to know her wisdom, wit and strength.  Everyone is welcome.  Even me!   I wrote about her effect on Louise Brooks as well.  

Happy day!   Diary-of-a-Lost-Girl-silent-movies-30540067-500-302

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Llamas

Leave a Reply

