Lisieux and Louise

It’s St. Therese of Lisieux’s feast day and to forget it is like forgetting a sister’s birthday.  I’ve had her picture in my room all my life and she part of the family.  I’ve had many things happen in waking and dreaming that make me feel as if she is near.  If you don’t believe in the mystic life then it’s all silliness.  But if you are like me then there are no limits earthly or otherwise.  To be drowned in her sweetness is to forget her courage and brilliance.  A genius of simplicity that changed the face of God Himself in the church and practices too.  She is the third woman doctor of the Church and perhaps the most popular saint.  Ironically, all she wanted was to be forgotten.

Well not today apparently.  A key chain jumped out at me today I bought twenty years ago.  Here some drug stores are like botanicas with candles and tools of enchantment and the like.  I got the key chain there and today from the bottom of the abyss of my room it flew at me, gently of course, and it reminded me of her feast day.

St. Therese knew the difference between a great saint and a great sinner was none at all.  Her simple ingenious way was profound and authentic. She links to another favorite woman of mine, Louise Brooks.  Even though Ms. Brooks converted she later lost her love for religion.  The duplicity of the clergy and the failure of her marriage all seemed to be too much for her faith to stand.  But she held on to St. Therese charmed by her guilelessness and passion for what she believed and loved.   This charcoal is one of Louise’s drew this month in 1954.

I like to think they are having fun today and eating heavenly cookies while they dance from star to star.  If you need someone with excellent connections talk to St. Therese.   She is said to send a rose if you get the all clear.  May you always be blessed by the things you hold dearest and have true friends to enjoy all that comes your way.  Happy feast day St. Therese put in a good word for us all.

3 thoughts on “Lisieux and Louise

  1. I’ve always loved images of St. Therese. I kind of feel like a slacker even saying that, since you seem to know so much about her. I’m glad you feel a connection to her. It can only be good.

  2. Pingback: I am Heathcliff

Leave a comment